Our History

History of police presence in Nunavik

​In 1936 the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) first set foot in Port Harrison, known today as Inukjuak. The Eastern Arctic Patrol ship patrolled the shores performing rescue missions. Shortly after 1936, the RCMP occupied all the communities of Nunavik.

Members of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police with sled dogs in 1957.

In 1961, the Surete du Quebec (SQ) replaced the RCMP following a decision made by the provincial government to assume complete jurisdiction of its territory. The SQ established its first police station in Kuujjuaraapik, also known as Great Whale, and six months later in Kuujjuaq (formerly known as Fort-Chimo). Before 1961, the SQ only went to Nunavik to reinforce the RCMP in major crime matters.

In 1975, the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement (JBNQA) was signed, which provoked significant changes in policing in Nunavik. An agreement was made between the SQ and the First Nations to implement an Aboriginal police program. The Cree nation first initiated the program in 1978, followed by the Naskapis and Inuit in 1980. Inuit who completed the Aboriginal police program became SQ special constables. Each special constable was supervised by a regular member.

SQ representatives with first aboriginal constables.

Creation of the Kativik Regional Police Force

In July 1995, the Kativik Regional Police Force (KRPF) was created. The transition from the Sureté du Québec's Aboriginal police division to that of the KRPF on the Nunavik territory was completed in April 1996, when the KRPF acquired full autonomy. After April 1996, the Sureté du Québec assumed its usual provincial role as an intervener in major crimes.

Becoming the Nunavik Police Service

In 2021, the Kativik Regional Police Force was renamed and became the Nunavik Police Service (NPS). The name change reflects the new policing vision and increased desire for greater community collaboration with the 14 villages in the region.

The Kativik Regional Government Council adopted the new name on February 24, 2021. The new name marks the police service’s 25th anniversary.

The old name did not reflect the modern vision of the police service. The new name embraces the identity of the territory it covers. Excluding “Force” from the name eliminates any reference to aggressive or repressive actions often associated with police interventions. The new name also underlines the commitment to Nunavimmiut to serve and protect the residents and their land by offering an unparalleled community policing service. The NPS will pursue its mandate to maintain peace, order and public security, prevent and repress crime, ensure the safety of the residents of Nunavik and safeguard their rights and freedoms through close cooperation with the community in a way that respects the Inuit culture and way of life.

Emergency 24/7


(819) 496-9111
P.O. Box 110
Akulivik (Quebec)
J0M 1V0
Open Monday to Friday 8AM to 5PM


(819) 491-9111
P.O. Box 03
Aupaluk (Quebec)
J0M 1X0
Open Monday to Friday 8AM-5PM


(819) 254-9111
P.O. Box 232
Inukjuak (Quebec)
J0M 1M0
Open Monday to Friday 8AM to 5PM


(819) 922-9111
P.O. Box 09
Ivujivik (Quebec)
J0M 1H0
Open Monday to Friday 8AM to 5PM


(819) 337-9111
P.O. Box 159
Kangiqsualujjuaq (Quebec)
J0M 1N0
Open Monday to Friday 8AM to 5PM


(819) 338-9111
P.O. Box 69
Kangiqsujuaq (Quebec)
J0M 1K0
Open Monday to Friday 8AM to 5PM


(819) 935-9111
P.O. Box 97
Kangirsuk (Quebec)
J0M 1A0
Open Monday to Friday 8AM to 5PM


(819) 964-9111
P.O. Box 780
Kuujjuaq (Quebec)
J0M 1C0
Open Monday to Friday 8AM to 5PM


(819) 929-9111
P.O. Box 330
Kuujjuaraapik (Quebec)
J0M 1G0
Open Monday to Friday 8AM to 5PM


(819) 988-9111
P.O. Box 239
Puvirnituq (Quebec)
J0M 1P0
Open Monday to Friday 8AM to 5PM


(819) 492-9111
P.O. Box 99
Quaqtaq (Quebec)
J0M 1J0
Open Monday to Friday 8AM to 5PM


(819) 255-9111
P.O. Box 39​​
Salluit (Quebec)
J0M 1S0
Open Monday to Friday 8AM to 5PM


(819) 633-9111
P.O. Box 09
Tasiujaq (Quebec)
J0M 1T0
Open Monday to Friday 8AM to 5PM


(819) 331-9111
P.O. Box 46
Umiujaq (Quebec)
J0M 1Y0
Open Monday to Friday 8AM to 5PM